Mistakes Part 2

medium_1354739463

So, I was almost done with a new post, that has apparently taken me forever to write, and I came across this blog post.  It had me reflecting on my last post.  When I wrote that post, I was feeling remorseful and confused about why I had succumbed to the urge to drink large quantities of alcohol and eat grains.  I like the author’s view on these types of “relapses” and how you should use them to reflect on why you made the change in the first place.  More often than not, you may see symptoms following the “relapse” that will (along with your reflection) help to renew your commitment.  This should be used as a learning experience, and not as a time to make yourself feel bad.

Finding this article came at a good time for me, because over the weekend I had another “relapse”, and now I am paying for it.  I was at a function which had a buffet, that I was already planning to eat from since there were grain free options.  However, they also had Iggy’s clamcakes, chowder, and doughboys…oh my!  So, I made the decision to allow myself to eat a couple of clamcakes.  I rationalized this as a treat that I would only have access to on a limited basis.  I had only first tried Iggy’s just before I decided to go grain free and I was a little upset that I hadn’t been able to enjoy it for some years before.  Their clamcakes and chowder are pretty much the best I have ever had, and in RI these two food items are a tradition.  I didn’t go overboard, and I allowed myself to eat a little bit of each, in addition to shredded chicken and salad.

Since then I have been having some side effects including gastrointestinal issues, and most notably…acne.  It seems that whenever I relapse and have grains and/or diary that I breakout.  Prior to changing my diet, I had acne all of my life.  Once I stopped eating grains and dairy, my skin was 100% acne free and softer than ever.  It even got rid of the rough skin on my arms and legs, known as keratosis pilaris.  So, I know there is a consequence to these relapses and having the immediate symptoms to show that definitely renews my commitment.  I suspect that there are other less visible side effects, and possibly long term side effects, like my autoimmune disease.  In a couple of weeks I will have my first appointment with a naturopath doctor.  I am hoping they can help evaluate my diet in relation to my health issues.  This may not only confirm my suspicions, but also give me the strength to avoid relapses in the future.

photo credit: Pink Sherbet Photography via photopin cc

One thought on “Mistakes Part 2

  1. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new
    from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this site, as I experienced
    to reload the web site a lot of times previous
    to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement
    in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

