Mistakes

mis·take

[mi-steyk] Show IPA noun, verb, mis·took, mis·tak·en, mis·tak·ing.

noun

1. an error in action, calculation, opinion, or judgment caused by poor reasoning, carelessness, insufficient knowledge, etc.
This is the definition according to dictionary.com

Mistakes are part of being human.  Because we have the ability to reason, thus we have the ability to do so poorly.  Does that explain why, when I put so much effort into taking care of myself, that I succumb to the desire to eat bread and drink alcohol.  I made a conscious decision to ignore the voice in my head that says…Hey, don’t eat that stuff you dummy!  Most of the time, when we make a decision to do (or not to do) something, we analyze what happens after our actions to determine if this is something we will do again (or at least I do!)  If there are no negative consequences, then we will probably do it again.  On the other hand, sometimes if there are negative consequences, accompanied by positive ones, and in that case we might do it again.  Drinking is fun.  It makes you feel good.  Eating bread is yummy!  When you eat something that tastes good, it makes you happy.  Even though this is the case, I know that both are bad for me.  I make conscious decisions every day to eat the right things.  I work out!  (Hehe…sorry…I couldn’t help myself!)  But yet I still find that from time to time, I make bad choices.  I don’t know if it’s from a lack of willpower, peer-pressure, or just moments of weakness, but I always regret it.  Something happened to me a couple of weeks ago, and I was very sick.  I couldn’t hold down any food, and as a result, my medication.  This is a scary thing for someone with a serious illness that relies on their medication to stay alive.  So, it is even more important for me to take care of myself. I thought it was a hangover, but it lasted so long I don’t know if that’s even possible.    My husband thinks I had food poisoning.  Whatever it is, I relate it to my drinking and eating grains.  As a result…I will be doing neither of those things for quite a while!

As I recover from the debacle…I am trying to come up with a reason for why this happened.  Maybe I did really have food poisoning.  If so, then there is nothing I can do about it.  If not, then the reason is due to my “poor reasoning”… and thus it was a mistake.  The moral of this story is that everyone makes mistakes.  And mistakes always have a consequence.  Some are not as bad as others, but we need to be able to face the aftermath.  If you can’t deal with it, then you had better not make the same mistake twice!

One thought on “Mistakes

  1. Pingback: Mistakes Part 2 « Jen Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

