Sugar Detox Restrospective and Sweet Potato Bacon Hash

I have a really good excuse for not posting for such a long time…I just got married!  Last Sunday was the wedding, and the week prior to that I was on “Mission DIY Wedding” and making sure everything was made and ready for the big day.  To say that I was a anxious and stressed is an understatement.  Everything got done, and the wedding was beautiful!  I was, and still am, so happy! 🙂

Sugar Detox Retrospective:

I had been meaning to do a look back on the 21 Day Sugar Detox that I did, but because I was so stressed and busy with wedding stuff, it just got pushed aside.  So, here it is…

Did it work?  Yes and no.  I lost about 5 pounds during the detox, and I definitely had less sugar cravings when it was over. I went from eating a sugary treat every night (usual a paleo friendly recipe that I made) to having only one or two per week.  This also could have been because I was so busy and stressed with the upcoming wedding that I just didn’t have time to make anything, or crave it.

Am I sugar free?  No!  On my honeymoon last week, I completely disregarded all of my rules!  (Ooops!)  I ate about half of a pancakes, some cheddar garlic biscuits, a hamburger bun, and a hole lotta fudge!!  It seemed like every store we went into ha

d some kind of delicious fudge….and they all claimed to be the best, freshest fudge around!  Well, I fell for it every time.  And every time, it was oh so delicious!  We also went to Chutters, which is a candy store in NH with the longest candy counter in the world.  AND…I bought and ate a whole bunch of chewy, gummy, sugar coated treats throughout the week!  This is rare for me, because I usually don’t buy treats unless there is some type of chocolate in it, but I went for gummy worms, sour cherries, and all kinds of things that I would not even want to know the ingredients of!

Chutters candy counter!  Not allowed on the 21 Day Sugar Detox!!

Would I do it again?  Immediately after finishing the detox, I would have answered…NO!  But now that I’ve had some time (and lot of sugar in between), I will say…YES!  Just not anytime in the next couple of months.  I think it’s something I could do once or twice a year if I feel the need.

Summary: The sugar detox did get me over that hump of trying to remove sugar from my daily diet.  I did lose weight as a result (when I had been stuck at a plateau for a while.) I did NOT notice a change in my energy or how I felt.  I think this may be due to the fact that when I did eat treats, most of the time I used coconut palm sugar, honey, or maple syrup anyway.  So, I was really only eating a small amount of white sugar.  I didn’t really notice any other major health changes, other than the weight loss and less sugar cravings.  My goal was to have less cravings, so I would say that it was a success.  I was hoping to see an increase in energy or some significant “feeling”, but I didn’t notice anything.  Maybe it was because of the stress of the wedding?  We’ll see what happens the next time I try the detox.

Recipe:

While I was on my honeymoon, we cooked a few meals in the full kitchen that we had in the hotel room.  This was a great way to save on money, and to help us eat somewhat healthy (at least for a few meals in between all of that fudge we ate!)  One night we made some bacon for a salad.  We cooked the entire package with the intent to save half for a salad later in the week.  We had a little incident with the fridge, and my husband turned the temperature down because he didn’t think it was cold enough.  Lettuce does not survive well when it freezes!  I was able to salvage enough for one salad, but now we had half of a package of leftover bacon. (We’d figure out how to use it for sure!)  The next night I baked some sweet potatoes along with chicken thighs topped with sliced  apples, all drizzled with some fresh pure maple syrup we bought.  We had leftovers from this, so the next morning I decided to make a sweet potato hash.  No measurements were taken, so use your own judgement if you try to recreate this.  We also did not have our spices with us, so there is not much to it, but if I was to make this again, I would definitely experiment with some things.

Sweet Potato Bacon Hash
4 pieces of cooked bacon

1 baked sweet potato

1 baked apple, sliced and drizzled with maple syrup before baking

1/2 red onion, sliced (or diced)

Pure maple syrup

In a skillet, cook the onion in your fat of choice, until tender.  (I think I used medium-high heat.)  Cut the sweet potato into chunks and add to the skillet. (Think at this point I turned up the heat because I wanted the potatoes to crisp up.) After about 5 minutes, crumble the bacon into the pan and cook for another 5 minutes.  Add the sliced apples and some maple syrup (to taste.) Cook until heated through, or crispy…whichever you prefer.

I served mine with some scrambled eggs and Niman Ranch Apple Cinnamon Breakfast Sausage (drizzled in maple syrup.)  YUM!!!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

