Sugar Detox – Days 19, 20, & 21

21 Day Sugar Detox:

Sorry for my lack of updates over the past few days of the detox.  Today marks the first day off the detox, but I have been so busy over the past few days that I was unable to post, so here it goes.

Here’s what I ate on day 19

Breakfast: Three eggs scrambled and three pieces of bacon.

Lunch: Plain grilled chicken, baby carrots, pistachios.

Snack: Half of a green apple with almond butter.

Dinner: Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Here’s what I ate on day 20

Breakfast: Egg scramble with tomato, avocado, and green onion with three pieces of bacon.

Snack: Half of a green apple with almond butter.

Dinner: Steak with broccoli and sweet potato fries.

 

Here’s what I ate on day 21

Breakfast: Three scrambled eggs with tomato and sweet Italian sausage.

Snack: Sweet potato chips.

Dinner: Turkey with escarole and spaghetti squash in tomato sauce.

Ok, so now that the detox is over, what happens?  I don’t know!  In a few days I’ll write a detailed post at my look back at the detox process and what happened afterwards, but I need to give it time to figure that out.  I can say this, I definitely had fewer and less intense sugar cravings after the first few days, but I just at a LaraBar and enjoyed it’s sweetness, but at the first bite it did seem a little overwhelmingly sweet…interesting!   I plan to have coconut milk ice cream tonight, so we’ll see what happens then!  I have also been looking forward to making some grain-free, dairy-free treats and have a few recipes on hand to test out this week. So, have I given up sugar…HELL NO!  BUT, I am going to try using only honey, maple syrup, and stevia from now on.  Stayed tuned for my retrospective look back on the detox and my thoughts about the process and the aftermath.

 

If you are interested in trying the detox yourself, you can find information here:

Leave a Reply

