Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Days 5 & 6

21 Day Sugar Detox:

Day 6, and I’ve had some issue!  One is that I forgot to post on day 5… ooops!  My day was kind of busy, and then I just forgot!  So, here is a combined post for both day 5 and 6.

Over the past couple of days I’ve been free of cravings.  Yippee!! BUT…I’ve had some slip-ups.  I’m not sure if that means the detox is ruined or not, but I’m going to keep up with it anyway.

Here’s what I ate on day 5:

Breakfast: Three scrambled eggs and three pieces of bacon.

Lunch: Steak with garlic butter, steamed broccoli, and sweet potato fries.  This is one minor booboo.  I was out and no where near home and stopped into a restaurant.  I didn’t want to order anything special, so I picked the best option there was.  Yes, I could have asked to not put the butter on there, but I didn’t want to.  And I didn’t ask, but there is always a possibility that the sweet potato fries could have had something on them that is on my do not eat list.  Some places put cornstarch on them, others put seasonings, etc.  These seemed to be fairly plain, and I didn’t eat too many.

Dinner: Bacon Wrapped Smokey Chicken Thighs with Garlic Brussel Sprouts

I didn’t like this dinner at all.  My fiance (who is the least picky eater I know) didn’t like this either.  So, I will not make this again.

Here’s what I ate on day 6:

Breakfast: Three scrambled eggs and two pieces of bacon.

Lunch: Chocolate covered ice cream bar and potato chips.  Yeah, yeah…I KNOW!!  We went to a birthday party and the choices were: bakery pizza, cake, potato chips, and chocolate covered ice cream bars.  Since I haven’t been eating grains for about a year now (with the exception of a few carefully chosen times), so I did not want to compromise on that, but I was hungry, so I took what I thought was the lesser of the evils.  Since I have only been on the sugar detox for less than a week, and I’ve been grain free for a lot longer, I went with the sugar!  I fell off the bandwagon, but I jumped right back on it.  I know I should have prepared and brought some grilled chicken and veggies or just eaten beforehand, but the morning was way to busy to plan.  This is evidence of how crucial it is to plan when doing a detox.

Dinner: Turkey with spaghetti squash, escarole, and tomato sauce.

This is one of my favorite meals and we have been eating it almost every week for a couple of months or more.  I will post this recipe to my blog soon.  Sorry there are no pictures tonight!

Over the past couple of days I would say that I have been completely free of sugar cravings.  Maybe that’s because I was too busy and had my mind on other things.  With the exception of actually eating sugar (only out of necessity) and not having craved it, I’d say the detox is going well.  Maybe I will stay on it for a few more days since today’s sugary treat may have thrown off the whole detox.  Oh well, you do what you can do.  I guess I could have eaten one of the green tomatoes or cucumbers they were growing in their garden.  Why didn’t I think of that while I was there!

21 Day Burpee Challenge:

Well, since I forgot to blog yesterday, guess what I forgot to do…burpees!  So, today was a double up day.  I did my 10 burpees from yesterday in the late afternoon, then the 12 burpees for today in the evening.  I better not keep forgetting because it’s going to get really tough when I have to double up on 20+ burpee days!!

Here is a really good video walking you through each step of a burpee.  How to do a burpee

BTW…I REALLY want this shirt.

Day 5 & 6  down!

Leave a Reply

