Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 3

21 Day Sugar Detox:

Today started off pretty good, but I ended up taking my car to get an oil change, tire rotation, and balance that ended up taking WAY longer than I expected.   As a result, I didn’t eat dinner until about 9pm and by that time I was…let’s just say…a little on edge!!  BUT, I didn’t have any sugar cravings today, so that’s a plus.

Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: Same as the last couple of days, ground turkey with chopped broccoli and spinach, seasoned with thyme, parsley, salt, and pepper.  This is a variation of my turkey breakfast hash minus the sweet potato and maple syrup.

Lunch: Whole Foods grilled chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, and basil.  Also some baby carrots (which I ate with salt as a recommendation from someone to help stop sugar cravings…maybe it worked!), and sweet potato chips.  I think I am only supposed to eat sweet potato after a workout, but I don’t know how I would have made it throughout the day if I hadn’t had these.

Snack: Celery with almond butter.

Dinner: Mediterranean-style Tuna Salad

Sorry, I don’t have a picture of this one because I was too hungry and ate it standing in the kitchen immediately after I made it.  The thought of taking a picture didn’t even cross my mind because I was so hungry!

Yum, Yum, YUM!!  I really liked this.  I used skipjack tuna, chopped up my capers, added green onions fresh from my garden, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and pepper.  I pretty much stuck to the recipe here.  I did have it with half an avocado…I LOVE tuna with avocado.  Since it was so late, I didn’t want to eat too much, but normally I would have added something else to this meal.

Other than having so much time between meals I felt pretty good today.  I had my snack around 3:30, CrossFit at 5:30, then dinner at 9:00, so yeah I was pretty famished and a little grumpy by the time I ate!  I can tell you right now, I NEVER would have been able to do this over a year ago.  Since I have gone grain free, my life has changed.  I used to have to eat something about every 3 hours or my blood sugar would drop suddenly (hypoglycemia) and I would feel like I was going to die (intense feelings of hunger, shakes, sweats, tunnel vision, couldn’t think or talk, my face and lips would turn ghost white, and I would be on the verge of passing out!)  I learned that if I didn’t treat these symptoms immediately that there was a possibility I could go into a coma.  A glass of orange juice or anything sugary would quickly reverse this.  So, through the process of removing grains from my diet, I have learned that these types of foods really mess with my blood sugar.  I am just fine without them now and being able to go almost 6 hours not eating, and not having a drop in my blood sugar, is proof that this is a healthy choice for me.  I think  before I may have had insulin resistance or sensitivity, which caused the hypoglycemia problems.  I believe my grain free diet has reversed this!

21 Day Burpee Challenge:

I did 6 burpees before CrossFit today. Not too bad, but I can tell it’s going to start getting a lot tougher from here on out!  WOD today was Fran.  Since I started CrossFit, about 3 months ago, I kept hearing about Fran and wondering when I was going to get to do it.  Now I can finally say that I have a Fran time!  My goal for the next Fran is to not beat my time, but to increase my weights and do some kind of a pullup, because I only did ring rows this time.

Day 3 down!

Leave a Reply

