Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 2

Check out PaleOMG’s 21 Day Sugar Detox Results!  This is encouraging to me.  And after yesterday, I kinda need it!

21 Day Sugar Detox:

Today started off not so bad.  I feel pretty good…normal really.  I expected to feel famished and run down this morning…nope!

Here’s what I ate today;

Breakfast: Same as yesterday, ground turkey with chopped broccoli and spinach, seasoned with thyme, parsley, salt, and pepper.  This is a variation of my turkey breakfast hash minus the sweet potato and maple syrup.

Lunch: Whole Foods grilled chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, and basil. Salad consisting of lettuce, cucumber, red onion, carrots, black olives, and hard boiled eggs with a homemade oil and vinegar dressing with italian herbs.  (I actually didn’t finish my salad because I think I may have taken too much food.  Which was my plan because I felt like I didn’t eat enough yesterday)  I also had baby carrots, almonds, and pumpkin seeds on the side (since the pistachios yesterday were GROSS!), but unfortunately I didn’t eat very many of the almonds and seeds.

Snack: Skipped snack because I was too busy at work.  This is probably why I was so hungry by dinner time!

Dinner: Mexican Salad

This salad was yummy, and I would have it again.

It’s just about 8pm, and I’m still feeling unsatisfied today.  Maybe it’s all in my head, because when I think about it, I really don’t eat that much sugar.  By sugar I mean refined sugar.  There are a bunch of foods, including vegetables, on this detox that I can’t eat and I think if I was only cutting out refined sugars then I would feel ok.  I am still going to try to finish what I started.  However, I did have cravings for sweets today, specifically cookies!  And not even regular cookies, I would have been fine with my paleo friendly cookies made with honey or maple syrup and dairy free chocolate chips.  I mentioned this on my personal Facebook page and got some suggestions about getting past these cravings.  One was to eat vegetables with some salt on them, like carrots.  That sounds interesting and I plan to try that tomorrow during my lunch.  Another suggestion was to drink herbal tea.  That I am going to try right now.  Funny, because I have a fairly good variety of herbal tea in my house, but for some reason I don’t drink it often.  And ironically, I am about to drink a variety called detox! (as soon as it cools off enough so I don’t burn my mouth, which I HATE!)  A third suggestion was to try yoga poses that are supposed to help with sugar cravings.  Not sure if I can do them all, but check them out here.  If the tea doesn’t work, then I will be trying these, and I’ll let you know what happens! (Thanks Jennah for the last two suggestions!)

21 Day Burpee Challenge:

I did 4 burpees, but no CrossFit today. Easy enough.

Day 2 down! (Well, for the most part…who knows what will happen between now and midnight!)

Leave a Reply

