Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 1

21 Day Sugar Detox

Ok, so the day started off not so bad, though I will definitely need to make some adjustments to my planned breakfast and lunch.

Breakfast: Ground turkey with chopped broccoli and spinach, seasoned with thyme, parsley, salt, and pepper.  This is a variation of my turkey breakfast hash minus the sweet potato and maple syrup.  It was just ok, kind of blah, but I can definitely deal with this for the remainder of the week.  Next week though, I think I might try something different.  Any ideas?  It needs to be something I can prepare on Sunday so that I can just portion it out during the week to take to work.

Lunch: Grilled chicken seasoned with salt, pepper, and basil.  I bought this pre-made from Whole Foods because they had a sale on grilled chicken.  Salad of frisee, cucumbers, radishes, red onion, tomato with a oil and vinegar dressing with italian herbs.  Ehhh…I don’t think i can eat this for the next 4 days…but since I don’t want to buy anything else, I guess I’ll have to deal with it.  I will definitely have to find something else to have next week.  Any ideas? I also had some baby carrots and pistachios (which were stale and gross, but maybe that’s because they were pre-shelled?)

Snack: Celery with almond butter

Dinner: Blackened Tilapia with Zucchini “Noodles”

This dinner was delicious.  I added some tomato sauce (I made sure it was sugar free.  Ingredients were tomatoes, olive oil, and spices), but if I was to make this again, I would add another side.

 

 

 

 

At this point it’s after 9pm and I am feeling a bit hungry and have a headache.  I think the headache is from CrossFit, since I do get them from working out from time to time.  I have to admit that I kind of feel like giving up on this detox.  Maybe it’s just the foods I am choosing, but they do not leave me feeling satisfied.  They taste good, but just missing something.  Maybe this is me going through withdrawal.  It’s only day one and I need to try for at least a couple of more days.  I don’t want to give up!!

21 Day Burpee Challenge:

Before CrossFit today, I did 2 burpees. Easy peasy…

Day 1 down!

2 thoughts on “Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 1

  1. Keep up the good work, Jen! It takes about 3-4 days for the remaining sugar in your body to be fully metabolized. You should start to feel better then! I don’t know what to suggest as far as food goes…paleo seems a little tough for breakfast! Can you just have leftover dinner for breakfast?

    • Hi Jennah! Have you done a detox before? Hopefully I will feel better by the end of the week. This detox is actually more restrictive than paleo, so that’s why I’m having such a hard time with breakfast and lunch. I would say, yes I can have leftover dinner for breakfast, but usually I only make just enough to eat for dinner, and I’m not a big fan of leftovers. I think I will try some hard boiled eggs and bacon next week, with a side of veggies of some kind. Thanks for the encouragement too! I need it, and will probably need more as I get further into this.

Leave a Reply

