Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – The Day Before

So, here I am…the day before I start my sugar detox.  Some of you may be asking, Why am I doing this?  My poor unsuspecting fiance is somewhat unwillingly participating in this detox with me, and he asked me that exact question this morning.  I thought, hmmm…why am I doing this?…Oh yeah, because sugar is bad for us! Well, that’s the simple answer, but the actual answer is a little more involved than that.

Reason No. 1 – Addiction

A while ago I read this article, Sugar Got You Down? 10 Steps To Help You Break Free [BLOG] « Positively Positive.  As a result of that, I started to write a blog post about how I was addicated to sugar.  Well, I guess I never really finished that post an I just came upon it now as I was about to write this current post about the day before my detox and to explain why I chose to do this.

OMG!  I don’t know if I can do this.  I guess this is truly an addiction because I can’t think of my life without sweets. I’ve never felt that I could understand addiction, whether it’s to cigarettes, alcohol, or drugs, because I’ve never had an addiction to any of those things.  I have never smoked a cigarette in my life, not even one puff, and it totally disgusts me, so to this day I have never understood why people can’t just quit that disgusting smelly habit that could possibly be killing them!  I’ve always just been a casual drinker.  Yeah I’ve had my nights when I consumed too much, but it’s not something that I have ever had the desire to do on a daily basis.  I go months without having a drink and even when I do, it has now become a one or two drink occasion (three if I’m feeling wild and crazy!.)  I just HATE the way it makes me feel the next day.  So, until I read this article, I never fully accepted the idea that I might be addicted to sugar.  I’ve always just thought I loved the taste of it, and that’s that.  When I think about it, I’ve read all kinds of things about how unhealthy sugar is and the harm it can cause to your teeth, body, etc. If I know it could be harming me, why do I keep consuming it? Sounds just like the information about how cigarettes can cause lung cancer!  It was like someone turned the light on!  Holy crap…I am addicted to sugar.  Sure, I love the taste, and I love the satisfaction I feel after eating it, but later on I have heartburn, and who knows what else it’s doing to me!  But how can I go into CVS and not buy a dark chocolate coconut cream egg, or mini eggs around Easter?  How can I not have yummy chocolate ice cream while sitting down to watch a sad sappy movie on a cloudy lazy day, or my nesquick chocolate milk on the weekend? How can I not make the yummy gain free chocolate cupcakes with sweetened ghiardelli cocoa mix? I would say that on most days, I have one sweet serving, usually in the evening, after dinner.  Sometimes I have a craving during the day and will have something at work.  On a bad day, I might have something sweet with every meal.  But on average, I don’t go overboard (compared to how I used to eat when I was much younger.) Some days I don’t even have that after dinner dessert, and I am just fine with that, but I have come to look forward to my sinful sweet lovers! I don’t know if it has just become habit, or if it’s a sweet craving driven by my addiction, but there are some nights when not even the threat of an apocalypse can keep me away from that cupcake or ice cream.  Maybe I will start by getting rid of all the refined sugar in my house (which I don’t use anyway.)  When I bake I use coconut palm sugar, but the ghiardelli cocoa, ice cream, and any other pre-made concoction I buy is always going to have refined sugar.  Only problem is that according to this article, even the palm sugar isn’t good.  So, the next step would be to get rid of that and try local honey, and slowly wean myself off of that.  Oh my fiance is going to hate me!  This doesn’t mean that I still won’t attempt to make cupcakes and cookies, but they are just going to be a lot less sweet.  In that case, I probably won’t enjoy them anymore…isn’t that the point of eating that stuff.  So, is this what an addiction feels like?  Maybe I need to admit myself to a treatment center?  Is there such a thing as a sweets treatment center?

Reason No. 2 – Recommendation

Simply because this guy did it and it sounded like a good idea. http://www.facebook.com/CivilizedCaveman http://civilizedcavemancooking.com/

Reason No. 3 – Paleo

I have been working towards a full Paleo diet, and sugar is my real last holdout, so I am hoping this detox will get me over that hump.

Reason No. 4 – Too many reason not to

Here is a list of 146 reasons why sugar is bad for you, including many that affect me like immune system problems, asthma, and many more  http://rheumatic.org/sugar.htm

Preparation for the detox:

So, now that I have covered the reasons why I am going to do this detox, let’s get into my preparation, because that is the key to making any dietary changes.  I can attest to this first hand from my experiences going grain free.  If I have my meals planned out for the week and make foods in advance, then I will have a successful week.  If I don’t prepare ahead of time and leave decision making to when I am hungry, I will make bad decisions out of hunger, aggravation, and urgency.

Step 1: Become familiar with the foods I can and cannot eat.  Since I am already grain free, dairy free, and legume free, I am starting at level 3.  If you are not quite at that level, there are two other levels to help ease you into the detox.  That by no means makes me feel like this will be easy for me, because there are things I eat on a daily basis that are on the No foods lists, so I can only prepare and hope for the best. (Check √)

Step 2: Eat, hide, or throw away anything in my house that will tempt me.  Once such thing is the jar of Jason’s chocolate hazelnut/almond butter in my cabinet. I LOVE to eat this with a banana!  Luckily there is only a little bit left and I plan to finish it off today.  Other than that, I don’t really have anything in the house that would pose a threat. (Check √)

Step 3: Plan out my meals.  For the most part I have the next three weeks planned out, but there are a few days that I still need to fill in for week two and three.  We’ll see how week one goes first… (Check √)

Step 4: Go grocery shopping to get everything I will need for every meal over the next seven days. (Check √)

Step 5: Prepare foods that will be easy to grab during the week.  This includes cooking up some bacon, boiling eggs, and preparing my turkey breakfast hash (minus sweet potatoes and maple syrup.) (I’m going to get right on this after I finish this post!)

Burpee Challenge:

On top of all of this, I have decided that I will do a burpee challenge!  I’ve been doing CrossFit for over 2 months now, and I love it!  Well…most of it. One exercise done in CrossFit is the burpee.  The burpee has a long history in the military, and in general is a great exercise for the entire body. BUT…they are hard, and I HATE them!  The burpee kinda goes like this: squat, pushup, squat, jump. Many crossfitters hate them, so much so there is a buck furpee day.  For some reason I decided this would be a good way for me to get over my hate of burpees while also trying to push myself to a new level of fitness.  Here is a good intro video if you’ve never heard of a burpee before http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MGljX4bbps.  I will be posting more burpee info as I progress through the challenge.

Stay tuned for day 1 of the detox and burpee challenge tomorrow…

One thought on “Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – The Day Before

  1. Pingback: Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 4 « Jen Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

