Turkey “Hash” Recipe

Since I started going dairy free last week, I had to find something new to eat for breakfast.  For the past 6 months I have been eating cottage cheese for breakfast…so this has been difficult.  At CrossFit I was told that each meal should have protein, vegetables, and fat.  So, I had to think about this for a bit. I have always been a huge fan of breakfast. But that comes from eating pancakes, eggs, and bacon…still missing the vegetables there.  Plus, that’s not the kind of meal I can cook on a weekday morning before work. (I do have a recipe for grain free pancakes, so I can still have that for breakfast…I’ll post that soon.)  So, here is what I came up with.  Today is my first day having this, and I have to say…it’s delicious!

Turkey “Hash”

1 pound ground dark meat turkey

2 apples (chopped into tiny cubes)

1 cup cooked and cubed sweet potato (I used frozen for sake of time)

1 cup cooked broccoli (again, I used frozen to save time)

1 cup spinach (you guessed it…frozen, but I will use fresh next time since it cooks so quickly)

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup (I just bought this syrup at a farmers market, has to be the best I have ever had!)

1 tablespoon olive oil (or your choice of fat…next time I will try bacon grease!)

Salt (to taste)

Add oil (or fat of your choice) to skillet at medium heat.  Add turkey and cook until only a tiny bit of pink remains.  As it cook, break up into tiny chunks.  Add apple, sweet potato, broccoli, and spinach.  Cook until everything is heated through and turkey is no longer pink.  (I did not time this, so you will have to judge on your own.) Add thyme, maple syrup, and salt.  At this point I kind of mashed everything up, smashing the sweet potato pieces to blend it in, and I even removed the broccoli, chopped it up and put it back in (since it was frozen I couldn’t pre-chop it.)  Transfer to a container for storage, or eat now!  I ate mine cold for breakfast this morning and it was yummy!!

Let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Turkey “Hash” Recipe

  1. Pingback: Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 1 « Jen Busy Bee

  2. Pingback: Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 2 « Jen Busy Bee

  3. Pingback: Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 3 « Jen Busy Bee

  4. Pingback: Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Day 4 « Jen Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

