The Toxic Avenger!

Are we all doomed to become like the Toxic Avenger?

If your shampoo, soap, toothpaste, lotion, or other personal care product had a warning stating that it contained chemicals that could cause cancer, neurotoxicity, allergies, immunotoxicity, or organ system toxicity…would you still buy it or use it? Probably not!  That’s one reason why these products don’t have these warning labels and there is no regulation that says they have to. I can tell you right now that you probably multiple products in your home that contains at least one chemical ingredient that could cause one or all of these side effects. Most likely ALL of the products in your home contain at least one toxic chemical ingredient. I know that some people may think that since they have been using these products all of their lives that it’s probably ok, but if you are sick like me, or if you, your child, or another family member has ever been sick, did you consider that it could be from accumulation of these toxic chemicals throughout your life?  This is just one of the theories that I have touched upon in previous posts.  There is research that shows that some common chemicals in popular brand name products may have some type of correlation to cancer and other health issues. I try to use the same rule for products that I put in and on my body as I do for my food.  If you can’t pronounce an ingredient…don’t use it!  This is a lot more difficult with products than it is for food, but you can find a variety of products out there that do fit this rule.  You may have to do a little more shopping around, and you may have to pay more for that product, but what’s more important…saving a few bucks or your health? I vote for health!

Over the past few years, and more so now, I have been trying to limit my exposure to as many chemicals as possible.  This can be difficult though, due to the number of products one comes in contact with on a daily basis.  Toothpaste, hand soap, shampoo, conditioner, body soap, shaving cream, lotion, deodorant, perfume, makeup, hair products, even the shower curtain in the bathroom…and this is just from a typical daily routine of getting ready in the morning!  You also have the products that you cook and store your foods in, cleaning products, laundry detergent (that stays on your clothes…if you’ve ever had an allergic reaction to a detergent like I have…you know what I mean), fabric softener sheets, and so many more things!  It’s a constant barrage of chemicals.  These same chemicals that have been linked to cancer, neurotoxicity, allergies, immunotoxicity, organ system toxicity, and more! I really do believe that as these chemicals build up in your system, they affect your health negatively.  It could be linked to my allergies, or even my Churg Strauss.  I don’t have concrete evidential proof of this, but I am willing to make changes based on this theory.  It has been shown that chemicals do stay in the body and build up in the organs and tissue.  Since the body is so good at knowing what should be there and what shouldn’t, it only makes sense that it’s going to react to try and rid itself of this stuff.  Inflammation, immune system response, and allergies are all related and are reactions to stuff the body knows shouldn’t be there.  I don’t want that stuff going on in my body, so I am going to try and keep as many of these chemicals as possible out of there!

Over the five years or so I have made small changes to products that I buy and use.  More so over the past couple of years after being diagnosed with Churg Strauss. In an attempt to find out what caused this disease, I found a lot of information about chemical buildup and toxicity in the body, so I have transitioned to more and more natural products. Some of the changes I have made include plastics without BPA, glass containers instead of plastic, less toxic cookware (without aluminum or teflon), cotton shower curtain (as opposed to PVC/Vinyl), all natural shampoo, deodorant, makeup, toothpaste, household cleaners, etc.  I am in no way endorsing any companies, and I am not an expert on what’s safe and what isn’t, but below you find some recommendations of products that I have used or that I’m currently using.  Think about what products you come in contact with most often and decide if you want to eliminate these chemicals.

Insect Repellent from Bubble & Bee

Multipurpose Spray (Deodorant, room spray, body spray, air freshener) from Bubble & Bee

Deodorant (I use this in combination with the above spray, and sometimes the beeswax deodorant) from Bubble & Bee

Another deodorant from Face Naturals

I buy my face wash and face lotion from Face Naturals

They also have a fantastic body lotion that works so well on my keratosis pilaris.  Better than using a loofah or any other lotion I have ever tried!!  It’s expensive, but so worth it.  The raspberry sherbert smells soooo good! Face Naturals

Cotton shower curtain – Instead of the PVC chemical leaching ones that just sit in the dump! This one is washable and reusable.  Be warned that if you buy one from another company, it NEEDS to be at least 84″ long because it will shrink about 10 inches the first time you wash it!  One great think I love about these is that unlike the plastic curtains, they stay in place and don’t get stuck all over you when you’re showering!  It makes it feel like the shower is so much bigger!  Just wash it every 2-4 weeks and no need to buy another shower curtain, EVER!

Need dry shampoo?  This site has some great stuff for all hair colors and I LOVE their spearmint lip balm Hair Fix

Makeup (I don’t wear very much makeup, but when I do I try to stick with natural stuff.  I have bought a wide variety from this site and so far I like everything) Zosimos Botanicals

Toxin free kitchenware, baby/child stuff, and more at Mighty Nest

Toxin free ceramic cookware (I have a couple of these and love them!) Xtrema Ceramcor

The above is just a sampling of products that I use in my home.  Most recently I am planning to no longer buy any cleaning supplies and I will make all of my own products with baking soda, lemon juice, vinegar and some other ingredients based on recipes I have found online.  I’ll share them with you as I try them.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE comment below with recommendations for natural products I should try.  If it looks good to me, I’ll try it out and I’ll post reviews for you to read.

Here are some interesting reads about toxic chemicals in products and our bodies and where some of my info is referenced from:

http://www.paulpenders.com/ppblog/?p=2162

http://www.scnm.edu/correlation-between-cancer-and-parabens.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/organic-authoritycom/breast-cancer-parabens-_b_1209041.html

http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/2011/04/13/why-this-matters/

http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/myths-on-cosmetics-safety/

http://www.ewg.org/featured/227

http://children.webmd.com/environmental-exposure-head2toe/personal-care-products

http://safecosmetics.org/article.php?id=734

http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-18560_162-6506892.html

http://www.epa.gov/oppt/existingchemicals/pubs/actionplans/phthalates.html

Photo Credit: eek the cat

One thought on “The Toxic Avenger!

  1. Pingback: Chemicals to Avoid « Jen Busy Bee

Leave a Reply

