Sugar Detox & Burpee Challenge – Days 9 & 10

21 Day Sugar Detox:

After a full week plus a couple of days on this detox, I have to say that I am quite surprised at my lack of sugar cravings.  I didn’t really think this would ever happen.  I also think I have broken the habit of feeling the need to have a treat after dinner.  I REALLY didn’t think that would ever happen!  BUT, I have to be honest that I am looking forward to having something sweet once this detox is over.  Is that a bad sign?

Here’s what I ate on day 9:

Breakfast: Turkey Breakfast Crumble.  This was an attempt to find something to replace the blah tasting version of my turkey hash, without the hash (sweet potatoes.)  I think a hash consists of potatoes and meat, plus other ingredients.  Anyway, this week I combined a couple of different recipes and added some of my own ingredients.  It started with this: Turkey Breakfast Sausage.  I followed the recipe, ingredients wise, on this one, but didn’t make sausage patties, just cooked everything up and crumbled the meat.  It tasted ok, but needed a little something extra, so I went to this recipe: Breakfast Sausage.  I added everything except for the red pepper flakes, cayenne, and onions.  I think the onions would have been nice, but didn’t want to take the time to cook them, and I don’t like spicy foods, which is why I left out the other two ingredients.  I then added frozen chopped spinach.  Right out of the pan this was yummy!  It tasted like…well, sausage.  As it sat, and the spices intensified, I think there may be too much caraway and too much salt.  Overall it is good, and I would like to adjust things to make it perfect.  When I can find a recipe that I like, but don’t love, I tend to make it again and make small adjustments until it’s to my liking, so this will most likely be a repeat for next week.

Lunch: Grilled chicken with lemon juice, basil, salt, and pepper with baby carrots and pistachios.

Snack: Half of a green apple with almond butter.

Dinner: Lemon Rosemary Broiled Salmon with sauteed garlic kale.

This was yummy and I would definitely make it again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s what I ate on day 10:

Breakfast: Turkey Breakfast Crumble.

Lunch: Grilled chicken with lemon juice, basil, salt, and pepper with baby carrots.

Snack: Half of a green apple with almond butter.

Dinner: Beefy Mexi Cauli Rice
I didn’t really like this and probably won’t make it again.
image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 Day Burpee Challenge:

I did my burpees yesterday (day 9), but I think I might be calling it quits on this challenge…at least for now!  I did something to my foot, and it really hurts when I do burpees. (It must be the way I am bending it.)  I suspect that I may have a stress fracture, so I made an appointment with my doctor for tomorrow to get it checked out.  I sure hope that’s not the case because that probably  means I won’t be able to do CrossFit for at least a month!  Maybe the coaches can modify all of the exercises for me?  I know that instead of the running I can use a row machine, but I’m not so sure about all the other stuff.  I guess I’ll cross that bridge if (or when) I come to it.  For now I’m keeping my fingers crossed, but the fact that I am limping today doesn’t keep me too hopeful.

Day 9 & 10 down!

Leave a Reply

